Fairy Tales

“When I was ten, I read fairy tales in secret and would have been ashamed if I had been found doing so. Now that I am fifty, I read them openly. When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up.” C.S.Lewis

“The realm of fairy-story is wide and deep and high and filled with many things: all manner of beasts and birds are found there; shoreless seas and stars uncounted; beauty that is an enchantment, and an ever-present peril; both joy and sorrow as sharp as swords.” J.R.R. Tolkien

The modern fantasy novel is nothing more than a detailed fairy tale. Tolkien and Lewis understood this and it is for that reason we perhaps owe them such a great debt. For without Tolkien and Lewis the modern fantasy writing scene may very well have never exploded as it did. I for one would be much worse off, in so much as there would be no Pangea, and I feel that my soul would be poorer for it.

Leave a Reply

