Creating obstacles for your character

Obstacles.

Every well written protagonist needs an obstacle to overcome. In fact, the more the better! In Pangea Idris must overcome emotional obstacles of hurt and self doubt as well as physical obstacles of mother nature and distance. The more you can help a reader relate to the character and the obstacle they’re overcoming, the more you will draw them in and the more they will attach themselves to your writing.

What obstacles do your characters overcome?

3 thoughts on “Creating obstacles for your character

  1. I never thought of this (from this angle). Interesting take. Usually the flow of the story presents the obstacles but I will now keep this in mind. You just gave me an exercise. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Ryan, I think the flow is the most important. I find too, that usually the flow of the story does present the obstacles. I also know that sometimes I come to a point where I’m editing one of my drafts and I think to myself, “Can I improve this by making it more relatable?” Glad I made you think ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

