World Building

TheSilverForest2

“I loved the way the light shifted and meandered upon the forest floor, and I loved the appearance of the sky. So I took a brief moment to lay upon my back and peer high into the greens above. Green, for the blue of the open world can not be seen in all its purity beneath the leafy maze of the wood. I soaked up the warmth which floated its way down from the faint globe of the sun.

A good way to world build is creating sights that act as landmarks but are easily described without losing the reader in a myriad of long descriptive words that pull them out of the story, rather than back in. We can create a moment by all means, appealing to the 5 senses but making it a part of the story. Weaving it in, rather than out of the narrative is a skill I am still learning and developing myself.

Leave a Reply

