What’s Next?

An Open Letter To My Readers

A few months ago I received the news that my publisher won’t be publishing book 2 and 3 of the Pangea trilogy. It did not help that five minutes later I walked into an interview for a job I really wanted only to be told that the job was no longer available. Just a few weeks later I entered some months of emotional turmoil due to family issues. It knocked me for a spin. All of my writing came to a screeching halt. 

I don’t believe the publisher is publishing any books at present, they seem to have put a hold on things. Publishing can be time consuming and hard to make money with so I completely understand the decision. It still didn’t make me feel any better. 

I’ve spent the last few months gathering my thoughts and deciding on the best steps forward. 

Let me make clear that the trilogy will be completed, but what are the next steps?

1. I will be approaching new literary agents.

This may take some time but Inspire Fiction have agreed to release their images, copyright etc. to another publisher if one picks me up; I am now actively approaching literary agents and hoping for the best. Having the first book already published with between 500 – 1000 downloads does make this more tricky but I want to give it a try. I am aiming for larger publishers to get it in book stores, rather than smaller ones that make it available on just Amazon. 

2. If step 1 doesn’t work I will self publish

If I have no response from literary agents by Christmas then I will begin the road to self publishing in the new year. I have a good chunk of book 2 written (unedited) but I have put the writing on hold because any new publishing company may want to tweak the direction I am moving in. I would hate to do a complete re write. 

So all that to say, I will be publishing the second novel. It will at the very least be available on Amazon. I’m just sorry to say that you’re going to have to wait a little longer to read it.

For now though, I’ll stay in touch about the process and keep you informed. Thank you for your patience and your love for The World Of Pangea. 

Michael Davies

Leave a Reply

